• Categories
  • Click For Articles

    Party Like It's 200!

     Local dignitaries, including San Bernardino Mayor Patrick Morris and San Bernardino County Fifth District Supervisor Josie Gonzales, were on hand to celebrate San Bernardino’s 199th birthday last year. All current and former residents, their friends and families, are invited to celebrate the 200th birthday of San Bernardino at a gala on Saturday, May 15.

    Mayor Patrick Morris leads “Happy Birthday” at a celebration of San Bernardino’s 199th birthday last year. Celebrate the 200th birthday at a gala on Saturday, May 16.

    SAN BERNARDINO, Calif. (May 7, 2010) – Current and former residents of San Bernardino, and all of their friends and family, are invited to a gala celebration of the city’s Bicentennial on Saturday, May 15 at the National Orange Show Events Center.

    The event begins at 6:00 p.m. with a social hour, followed by dinner at 7:00 p.m. There will be live music including strings and Mariachis, dancing with music by the Cal State (San Bernardino) Jazz band, and entertainment.

    “Let’s make this a great reunion of people who love San Bernardino,” said Martha Pinckney, chair of the Bicentennial Celebration Gala. “Its purpose is to celebrate the bicentennial of our city. It’s a party that has been in the making for 200 years.”

    Tickets for the Bicentennial Celebration Gala are $100 per person. To order tickets, go to http://sanbernardino200.org or call 909.886.2528.

    Although the Bicentennial Celebration is taking place throughout 2010, the Bicentennial Celebration Gala kicks off eight days of concentrated events.

    Other events taking place in the week to follow are:
    • The Mayor’s Run May 16 at Arrowhead Credit Union Park. Registration begins at 7:00 a.m., the first race at 8:00 a.m. Call Mitch Assumma at (909) 384-5233 for an application or visit http://sanbernardino200.org.
    • The Festival of Faiths 3:00 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. May 16 at Little League Western Regional Stadium. Call the Rev. Petra Malleis-Steinberg at (909) 886-4911 if your church wishes to take part.
    • A Bicentennial Celebration monument dedication and Centennial Celebration monument rededication at Inland Center Drive and I Street, 10:00 a.m. May 20 with a reception immediately following at the California Welcome Center, 1955 Hunts Lane, San Bernardino.
    • A parade through downtown and a festival celebration before and after at Meadowbrook Park on May 22. The parade begins at 4:00 p.m., the festival celebration at 12 noon.

    Other upcoming Bicentennial Celebration Events:

    Music will highlight May 7 and 8 with an adaptation of Mozart’s opera “Cosi Fan Tutte” at the University’s P.A. Recital Hall.

    May 8 and 9, the celebration debuts Railroad Days at the San Bernardino History and Railroad Museum at the historic Depot. The historic Santa Fe 3751 steam locomotive will be brought to San Bernardino for this event which takes place 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. each day.

    Join the contestants at the San Bernardino’s Got Talent Show on June 19 at the Sturges Center of Performing Arts at 7:00 p.m. when the finalists will perform their acts. Winners will be announced at this event.

    The Bicentennial festivities on July 4th at the 66ers Stadium in the Arrowhead Credit Union Park will have live entertainment, food and a fireworks display unlike any the city has previously seen.

    The Stater Bros. Route 66 Rendezvous, the Western Regional Little League Tournament and other events taking place in the latter part of 2010 will also feature a tie-in to San Bernardino’s Bicentennial, keeping the celebration alive throughout the year.

    Rabbi Hillel Cohn is the chairman of the Bicentennial Celebration Committee, and Erin Brinker is the chair of its Public Relations & Marketing and Independence Day Extravaganza committees. Other Bicentennial Celebration Committee members are Jim Smith (chair of the Community Engagement committee), Cheryl Brown (chair of the Youth Council, Intergovernmental and Arts committees), Beverly Bird (chair of the Legend of the Arrowhead committee), Steven Shaw (chair of the History committee), David Smith (chair of the Finance committee), Jane Sneddon (chair of the Parade committee), Martha Pinckney (chair of the Gala committee) and John Valdivia. The mayor and members of the San Bernardino Common Council appointed these members.

    Additional community volunteers who have taken on leadership of other committees are: The Rev. Petra Malleis-Sternberg (Festival of Faiths), Edward Martinez (Leadership Cabinet), Peggi Hazlett (Mayor’s Run), Dr. Charles “Skip” Herbert (Coloring Books for Schools), Karen Blanco (Media) and Dameron Communications (Public Relations.)

    For more information, contact Erin Brinker at (951) 323-9337 or go to http://sanbernardino200.org

    Trackback from your site.

    Leave a comment

    You must be logged in to post a comment.