• Categories
  • Click For Articles

    San Bernardino’s Got Talent Features Local Youth


    San Bernardino has many talented young residents. Catch some of the best at San Bernardino’s Got Talent, taking place Saturday, June 19 at the Sturges Center for the Fine Arts. Photo by Chris Sloan.

    (SAN BERNARDINO, Calif.)—San Bernardino’s Got Talent Variety Show, featuring some of the city’s most entertaining young people, takes place 6 p.m. Saturday, June 19 at the Sturges Center for the Fine Arts, 780 North E Street.

    “The motto of the Bicentennial Celebration is ‘San Bernardino: A Rich History. A Bright Future’,” said Cheryl Brown, chair of the program. “San Bernardino’s Got Talent focuses on the future, and the wealth of entertaining talent that these people, ages 5-25 will bring to that future.
    Working diligently on this project is Charmaine Murphy, who is also excited about the talent we’ve uncovered.”
    Ticket prices are $7 if purchased online at www.sb200.org or $10 at the door.
    The Bicentennial Celebration Committee will award monetary prizes in this talent show. Age category 18 – 25 years will be awarded three prizes: First place wins $1,000, second place wins $500 and third place wins $300. The Bicentennial Celebration Committee will award one first place prize of $300 for ages 14 – 17 and one first place prize of $200 for ages 5 – 13 years,

    The young participants, listed below, were chosen by audition.
    Age 5 – 13 Category Finalists:
    1. Chy-anne Alsobrooks – Singer
    2. Reagan Brinker – Singer
    3. Jhomaani Chess – Singer/Dancer
    4. Keyern Jackson – Hip-Hop Dancer
    5. Allison McHaney – Tap Dancer
    6. Kelly Muller – Singer
    7. Briana Pleasant and Kaylee Powell – Singers
    8. San Bernardino Teen Music Workshop – Band Members of this band are:
    · Dontiere Burroughs
    · Sydnee Castillo
    · Ronald Draper II
    · Angelica Garcia
    · Daniel Garcia
    · Maria Llamas
    · Joey Love
    · Richard O’Howell
    · Stephanie Orozco
    · Marshall Trampus
    · Makylie Winlo
    9. The Young Soldiers – Singers/Dancers. Members of this all-male song and dance troupe are:
    · Bernardo Colegio-Rodriguez
    · Armando Hernandez
    · Vincent Hernandez
    · Isaac Rodriguez
    Age 14 – 17 Category
    1. Joe Banuelos – Singer/Dancer
    2. Jacqueline Chevrier – Singer
    3. Samantha Garcia – Singer
    4. Angelika Lopez – Ballet Dancer
    5. Lyric Mena – Singer
    6. Genice Tanner – Singer/Guitar
    Age 18 – 25 Category
    1. Nadia Bell-Stowers – Opera Singer
    2. Heather Clodfelder – Singer
    3. Colton City Mission Youth Choir – Singing Band. Members are:
    · Alexis Allen
    · Alison Allen
    · Nikki Bradbury
    · Kenton Dyce
    · Latanya McIntosh
    · Tyrone McIntosh
    · Daniel Peart
    4. Tino Rivera – Hip-Hop Rapper
    5. Naomi Slotkin – Singer
    6. Caitlin Smothers – Singer
    7. Pierre Thomlinson – Poetry

    All 103 contestants that auditioned are invited to participate in the Finale’ number of San Bernardino’s Got Talent Variety Show and will be receiving an invitation letter.  This is one of many events honoring the 200th birthday of San Bernardino.  A Rich History.  A Bright Future.
    For more information, visit www.sanbernardino200.org and click on San Bernardino’s Got Talent.
    Other upcoming Bicentennial Celebration Events:
    The Bicentennial festivities continue on July 4th at the 66ers Stadium in the Arrowhead Credit Union Park, the 4th of July Extravaganza with a fireworks display unlike any the city has previously seen.

    The Stater Bros. Route 66 Rendezvous, the Western Regional Little League Tournament and other events taking place in the latter part of 2010 will also feature a tie-in to San Bernardino’s Bicentennial, keeping the celebration alive throughout the year.

    Rabbi Hillel Cohn is the chairman of the Bicentennial Celebration Committee, and Erin Brinker is the chair of its Public Relations and Marketing and Independence Day Extravaganza committees. Other Bicentennial Celebration Committee members are Jim Smith (chair of the Community Engagement committee), Cheryl Brown (chair of the Youth Council, Intergovernmental and Arts committees), Beverly Bird (chair of the Legend of the Arrowhead committee), Steven Shaw (chair of the History committee), David Smith (chair of the Finance committee), Jane Sneddon (chair of the Parade committee), Martha Pinckney (chair of the Gala committee.) and John Valdivia. The mayor and members of the San Bernardino Common Council appointed these members.

    Additional community volunteers who have taken on leadership of other committees are: Rev. Malleis-Sternberg (Festival of Faiths), Edward Martinez (Leadership Cabinet), Peggi Hazlett (Mayor’s Run), Dr. Charles “Skip” Herbert (Coloring Books for Schools), Karen Blanco (Media), The Art Institute of California – Inland Empire (Design) and Daemron Communications (Public Realtions).

    For additional details, contact Erin Brinker at (951) 323-9337 or go to http://sanbernardino200.org

    Trackback from your site.

    Leave a comment

    You must be logged in to post a comment.